Social Media Experts

I see job postings all the time for “social media experts.” Are you a social media expert? Am I? What makes someone a “social media expert?”

As a gen Y/millennial kid, I’ve grown up in the digital age. I’d patiently wait for my computer to stop churning out strange, somewhat disruptive, dial-up sounds until I heard the precious sound I’d been waiting for: “you’ve got mail.” But just because I’ve grown up with the Internet, Y2K scare, emergence of MySpace/Facebook/Twitter does that make me an expert? I wish.

Yet, the amount of job postings searching for media savvy individuals is increasing everyday. And they all want people like me; someone who has grown up in the digital age, understands it, and knows how to adapt it to fit their marketing goals.

So, just in case you end up accepting an internship that forces you to prove your media savvy-ness, here are a few tips I’ve learned recently:

  • Monitor
    • Do your research. Besides monitoring your client’s site make sure you’re also monitoring the competition too. What are they doing that you aren’t? What’s working? What’s not? What can you do to make your site better?
  • Engage
    • CGC (consumer generated content) is key. Typically 3 posts a day are the sweet spot for engagement. Keep your target market in mind when scheduling your posts and don’t stop posting on weekends. Brands that don’t post at night or on weekends are missing out on prime engagement from consumers. Just because you work 8-5 doesn’t mean it’s ok to stop encouraging conversation with your fans. The conversation should be constant.
  • Evaluate
    • Once the content is posted you really should continually gauge the content. When consumers ask questions, promptness is crucial in online customer service. Visitors are on your site for a reason so keeping them happy and informed is important.
  • Expand
    • Make sure the information you are communicating is consistent across all social media platforms. As you expand, utilize Facebook for conversation starters and media sharing (pictures, videos etc.) and Twitter for time-sensitive content and updates. Each platform should have different content so you promote synergy and don’t become too repetitive.

Now I’m no media expert, per se, but I hope these 4 tips are able to assist you at some point in your life.

If this didn’t help you, try following – @DJenders@AugieRay@SarahVanElzen they are some real “social media experts.” And hopefully, together we can continue to learn from each other. Until then, stay tuned.

8 thoughts on “Social Media Experts

  1. courtneyopie says:

    You are great! I think you could be Aria the Queen Media Expert! The four tips you gave were really insightful. Monitor, engage, evaluate, and expand= MEEE…which is interesting because to become a media expert I think it really comes down to me. Maybe with not that many e’s at the end but you get the idea.

  2. kmadeleine02 says:

    I loved this post. I was wondering the same thing, I know that I am no media expert (because I’m a science major), but listening to all of the ADPR majors in class, and how much they all know makes me wonder what really makes one. I mean, we grew up with all of these social media outlets and learn about them in numerous classes. So how are we not the experts? After listening to some of the speakers, I realize that we do not know everything. I’d say we’re getting pretty darn close though.

  3. lizsieps says:

    Great post! I also wrote on something similar.

    I agree with you in thinking that it’s funny that everyone is looking for a “social media expert.” You’re so right to question what the heck an expert with social media is? Is it you? Me? Someone who works at an agency? I really have no idea anymore. I mean- how can you be an expert at something that changes nearly every single day?

    Those 4 steps- Monitor, Engage, Evaluate, and Expand are absolutely brilliant (whoever titled those must REALLY be a social media expert). Before I learned of those 4 steps I will admit I found social media a bit overwhelming. However, looking at it through such simple terms makes it understandable for pretty much anyone with basic knowledge of marketing!

  4. Great recap and truly hope that Sarah’s presentation has given you a foundation to build a social media strategy and engagement plan.

  5. Kerry Burke says:

    This was a great post! I love how you organized your information.

    Since I started taking a social media class, I have also been wondering what a social media expert is. I mean, we all have at least some experience with Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, etc. but since so many people do, does it matter anymore? To reflect what Liz said, new social media sites are popping up everyday so how can you stay on top of all of it?

    All in all, these four steps are a great foundation for becoming a “social media expert.” Thanks for the post!

  6. Francesco says:

    I have read so many articles or reviews regarding the blogger lovers except this post is really a pleasant post, keep it up.

  7. Cheri says:

    This is a very good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Many thanks for
    sharing this one. A must read post!

  8. keeping fit says:

    These are genuinely impressive ideas in about blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

Leave a Reply

